Pissing Me Off – Philadelphia

Maybe it’s the cheap rum.

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m blasting Eminem on iTunes.

Maybe it’s because I’m just sick of people.

Whatever it is, I’ve been inspired to write a series of journal entries on things that piss me off. These things might not bother you as much. Well, that’s the good thing about being me…my opinion is the only one that matters!

So, first up on the list – the City of Brotherly Love aka Philadelphia aka Killadelphia aka I wish I was New York but I don’t have the work ethic so I’ll just coast off the fact that I’m not Jersey!

This city is nothing but a rainbow coalition of ghettos populated by people basking in self-composed, self-righteousness. An air of “at least I’m not THEM” permeates each area but we call that stench “culture.”

I’m sick of the “Real Nigga Mafia” holding down the block…none of which they own, mind you.

I’m sick of the enlightened patchouli and salami white folks who organize diversity gatherings and manage Uhuru establishments but cringe at the word “race.” Practice what you preach or put the hood back on.

I’m sick of the center city glitterati LA wannabes. If you were really that fierce you wouldn’t be living in Philadelphia.

I’m sick of the inbred arts scene. Maybe I need to eat more granola and take more yoga so that I could fellate myself too. Maybe then I would understand what the fuck this bullshit is all actually about.

I’m sick of college students thinking they’re rich because daddy’s money is swelling their pockets. It’s called luck not a birthright.

I’m sick of our broke ass city government.

I’m sick of pretension disguised as intelligence and worldly flavor. You read a book and went to Europe, I get it.

I’m sick of hipsterism disguised as cool. You own a turntable and shop at Urban Outfitters, I get it.

This is why I may seem a little distant when you see me. It’s nothing personal,  I’m just sick and tired and  don’t give a shit anymore.

Did I miss anything? Feel free to leave comments and suggestions…or don’t. As I mentioned I don’t give a shit.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

